Circulation Policy

Library Card Policies

  1. Any resident of Kentucky or Tennessee, or student of Murray State University (MSU) may obtain a library card free of charge with a state-issued ID (driver’s license, passport, visa, etc.).
  2. Children under the age of 18 may obtain a junior library card free of charge with the approval and signature of a legal guardian. Junior library cards may not be used to check out DVDs, Blu-Rays, or e-Readers.
    • The child’s guardian will be listed as the child’s “Responsible Party,” which indicates that he or she is responsible for all items and charges on the child’s account.
    • Exception: MSU students aged 17 may obtain a regular library card with a state-issued ID and a valid MSU ID.
    • Exception: Any 17-year-old who is married may obtain a regular library card.
  3. If any patron accrues fines exceeding the sum of five dollars, the patron’s account will be unusable until the balance is brought under five dollars.
    • A blocked account cannot be used to check out materials or use library computers. A blocked account also restricts usage of any cards that are linked to the blocked account.
  4. Patrons who have lost their library cards may obtain a new one for the price of five dollars. All items and charges on the patron’s account will remain when a new card is issued. The library will replace stolen cards; a police report may be required.
  5. CCPL library cards expire once every 365 days. At this time, a patron must update their contact information at the library in order to reactivate their library card.
  6. Patrons must present their library card in order to check out materials or use the computers. Patrons may only check out materials without their card if their photo is recorded in the library’s computer system and they present a photo ID.
  7. No one may check out items on a card that does not belong to them, except with a written consent form on file at the library.
  8. Any patron who is listed as the responsible party on a child’s account may check out materials on the account, but must have the child’s library card in hand. Other cases will be handled by the director on a case-by-case basis.

Check-Out Policies

  1. Books: Patrons may check out up to 100 books at one time. The lending period for books is 14 days. Books that are not on hold for other patrons may be renewed one time for a period of 14 days. Renewals can be done in person or by calling the circulation desk. Books that are not returned on time accrue fines at the rate of five cents per day.
    • Patrons will be notified when their book on hold arrives at the library. Holds will be kept for three days after the initial contact; any holds not picked up within that time frame will be re-shelved or checked out to the next patron on the hold list.
  2. Magazines: Patrons may check out up to six magazines at a time. Magazines are loaned for a period of 14 days and may not be renewed or put on hold. Magazines that are not returned on time accrue fines at the rate of five cents per day.
  3. Music CDs: Patrons may check out up to six music CDs at a time. CDs are loaned for a period of 14 days and may not be renewed. CDs that are not returned on time accrue fines at the rate of five cents per day.
  4. DVDs and Blu-Rays: Adult patrons may check out up to three DVDs or Blu-Rays (or a combination of both adding up to a total of three items) at one time. The lending period for DVDs and Blu-Rays is three days. DVDs and Blu-Rays that are not returned on time accrue fines at the rate of two dollars per day.
  5. Lease Audio Books: Patrons may check out up to three Lease Audio Books at one time. The lending period for Lease Audio Books is 14 days. Lease Audio Books may not be renewed or put on hold, and late fees accrue at the rate of five cents per day. By checking out a Lease Audio Book, patrons accept full responsibility for paying to replace any lost or damaged items.
  6. E-Readers: Adult patrons may check out one e-Reader for a period of 21 days. E-Readers will be inspected when they are checked out and checked in, and patrons must sign a contract making them responsible for any lost or damaged items. Late e-Readers accrue fines of five dollars per day. E-Readers MAY NOT be returned in any CCPL book-drop. If an e-Reader is found in a book-drop, the appropriate account will be charged a fine of 20 dollars, and be blocked for one month.
  7. Items returned to the library must have been checked in for at least 24 hours before being loaned to a patron within the same household.

Paid Services

  1. For the convenience of our patrons, CCPL offers black-and-white print services for 10 cents per page.
  2. Staff members will make black-and-white copies for patrons for 20 cents per page.
  3. CCPL has a fax machine for public use; patrons will be charged three dollars for the first outgoing page, and two dollars for any additional outgoing pages. Patrons may also receive faxes and will be charged two dollars for the first incoming page and one dollar for additional incoming pages.

Interlibrary Loans

  1. CCPL offers patrons the option to request books through interlibrary loan. In order for a title to be eligible to be loaned in this manner, the book must be at least one year past its publication date, and must not be included in CCPL’s collection.
  2. Patrons who wish to request a title through interlibrary loan may do so by filling out an interlibrary loan request form. Patrons may have up to three requests active at any one time.
  3. Patrons will be contacted when their loan arrives at CCPL. The loan will be held for seven days after the initial contact. If it is not picked up within the seven-day time limit, the item will be shipped back to the lending library.
  4. If, for any reason, CCPL is unable to acquire a requested item, the patron will be notified via telephone.
  5. Patrons who wish to renew an interlibrary loan item may request a renewal by calling CCPL at least five days before the original due date. Because the lending library sets due dates on interlibrary loans, not all renewals will be possible. If the item can be renewed, the patron will be contacted as soon as possible. If the patron does not receive confirmation on a renewal, the item’s original due date will stand.
  6. Any Interlibrary loan that is returned past its due date will acquire a fine of two dollars per day.
  7. Interlibrary loans that are returned without the attached CCPL label will carry a fine of two dollars.

Collection Requests

  1. If a patron wishes to request an item to be added to CCPL’s collection, he or she may fill out a request form. Please note: requests are not orders; not all requests will be filled. CCPL must choose which items fit best into the collection using the Criteria for Materials Selection outlined in the Collection Development Policy.
  2. Once an item is requested, patrons should check the catalog for availability; there is no way to estimate when or if an item will arrive.

Computer Use Policies

  1. Patrons with valid library cards are welcome to use CCPL’s desktop computers. All patrons using computers must adhere to CCPL’s Acceptable Use Policy, and any patron in violation of the policy will be asked to leave the computer area and may be suspended from computer use for an amount of time deemed appropriate by the library director.
  2. Patrons must have their library card present in order to use any CCPL computers.
  3. Patrons between the ages of 10 and 17 may use the desktop computers only if their responsible party has given written permission on the child’s application card.
  4. Children 10 and under are welcome to use the computers in the children’s area.
  5. Desktop computer use is limited to 90 minutes per day. Time may be extended in special circumstances if approved by a CCPL staff member.
  6. Patrons over 18 may use a library laptop computer within the confines of the library for a total of two hours per day. Laptops will be checked out to the patron’s account for the duration of use on a first come, first serve basis. Additionally, CCPL staff will hold the patron’s driver’s license or other state-issued ID while the laptop is in use.
  7. Out-of-state guests may use the Courtesy Computer for a duration of 15 minutes. Out-of-state guests who require a longer usage period may obtain a Guest Pass to use the desktop computers with the approval of CCPL staff.

Lost or Damaged Items

  • If a patron loses or damages an item belonging to the library, the item will remain on the patron’s account and the patron will be responsible for charges related to replacing and processing the item. Items that are over 90 days overdue will be considered lost. Refer to the Lost and Damaged Items Policy for further information.

Online Databases

  • CCPL offers several online databases for patron use. These are accessible through CCPL’s website and may be used either on- or off-site. In addition, CCPL offers access to through the on-site computers. Databases require patrons to log in using their library card number. Note: Kentucky Libraries Unbound requires a PIN at login; CCPL PINs are the last four digits of the patron’s library card number.


  1. CCPL’s hours are 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Sundays.
  2. CCPL will serve any patrons who are in line at the circulation desk at closing time.
  3. Books returned in either of the outdoor book drops later than one half hour before closing will be checked in the next business day. Books returned inside at any point before closing time will be checked in immediately.
  4. CCPL’s public-use computers will shut down each day 15 minutes before closing.
  5. CCPL staff will stop issuing new library cards 15 minutes before closing.
  6. CCPL staff will stop offering Notary Services 30 minutes before closing.

The Calloway County Public Library Board reserves the right to alter this policy without prior notice.